48th Annual Conference Registration is Open!
Register Now | Download Registration Form (PDF)

The deadline to submit an abstract of your recent research or work has been extended to Friday, May 31. This is your chance to share your techniques, strategies and research with your peers and industry leaders at the world’s largest conference on explosives engineering.

Upload your 200 to 400 word abstract online. If your abstract is selected, you will have the opportunity to present your findings at the 46th Annual Conference on Explosives and Blasting Technique in Denver, Colo.

The Annual Conference on Explosives and Blasting Technique is the largest gathering of its kind involving field blasters, manufacturers of explosives related products, educators and researchers. The conference provides a forum for the discussion of practical and technical information as well as presentation of the latest discoveries in the commercial explosives industry worldwide.

ISEE members and non-members are invited to submit ideas for papers to be presented at the conference, which will be held Jan. 26–29, 2020, at the Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colo.

Presented papers will be published in the proceedings of the conference and at onemine.org, which is home to more than 124,000 articles, technical papers, books in the explosives, mining, minerals and tunneling industries from ISEE, SME, NIOSH, AusIMM, CIM, SAIMM, TMS, IMPC, DFI and IIMP.

Submit Your Abstract

The Ohio Drilling & Blasting Conference was held from March 20-21, 2019, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Columbus, Ohio. The conference was sponsored by the International Society of Explosives Engineers (ISEE), the Ohio Aggregates & Industrial Minerals Association (OAIMA) and Ohio Coal Association and endorsed by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Mineral Resources Management.

More than 150 attendees participated in the event that featured 13 exhibit booths and a full day of presentations from explosives industry experts. This year’s program began with opening remarks from Mike Mann, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, and John Capers, Austin Powder, and included topics covering regulatory updates; geology; spacing calculations; community relations; and driller and blaster communications. Attendees qualified for blasters training recertification hours from several states.

The highlight of the event included presentations of the Lifetime Achievement, Blaster of the Year and Driller of the Year and awards. John Capers was honored with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The blaster recognition was awarded to Vern Dewees, Hilltop Energy. The driller award was presented to Dave Smith, MOVER.

The Ohio Drilling & Blasting Conference is a biennial event that serves as a platform for the exchange of the industry’s best practices.

For more information, visit www.isee.org.

A final rule on 27 CFR Part 555 was issued by the Department of Justice on Monday, April 1.

Beginning May 31, 2019, all ammonium nitrate will be subject to the § 555.220 Table of Distances when stored within the sympathetic detonation distances of high explosives and blasting agents listed under the table at § 555.220. Ammonium nitrate explosive mixtures that are high explosives pursuant to § 555.202(a), or are defined as a blasting agent pursuant to § 555.11, will be subject both to the table of distances for storage of explosives materials at § 555.218 and to the § 555.220 Table of Distances.

“The Department of Justice is amending the regulations of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) to remove the reference to an outdated guidance document in an explanatory note following the table of separation distances of ammonium nitrate and blasting agents from explosives or blasting agents. This final rule also clarifies that those separation distance requirements apply to all ammonium nitrate,” states a summary from the Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 62.

For more information contact, Denise Brown, Enforcement Programs and Services, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives at (202) 648-7070.

Read the Ruling

The ISEE Membership Directory and Desk Reference is the most comprehensive who’s who publication in the explosives industry. Now you can make your company shine and target explosives industry leaders by advertising in the Membership Directory Yellow Pages.

Ads start at $125. Reserve yours today. The deadline is Wednesday, April 17. For more information, contact Dede Manross at 801.942.5650 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Download an Order Form

More than 1,800 people from around the world met Jan. 27-30, 2019, in Nashville, Tenn., for the 45th Annual Conference on Explosives & Blasting Technique, setting a new attendance record for the ISEE conference on explosives engineering.

The conference included technical and poster sessions, workshops, industry socials and more than 180 exhibits showcasing latest technology. Keynote presenter and futurist David Houle kicked off the event with his discussion on emerging global trends and how they could affect the future of the explosives industry.

The online SEE Education Foundation auction, which wrapped up Tuesday, Jan. 29, raised nearly $8,000. Big-ticket items included one-of-a-kind quilt from Crazy Horse Memorial, a lifetime ISEE membership and an Alaskan dog sledding adventure.

The money raised through the auction will go to the Education Foundation ISEE Scholarship Fund, which awards scholarships to college students from across the globe who are pursuing careers in the blasting industry.

Ronald Elliott, International Blasting Consultants, won the Distinguished Service Award; Paul Downing, Lancer Insurance Company, and David True, Austin Powder Company, were honored with the Industry Service Award; Mark Dean, Texcel, Melvin Fletcher, Dyno Nobel, Cristian Rodriguez, Split Engineering, were awarded the President's Award; Donald McNeil, PDK Inc., was awarded the Blaster's Leadership Award; Donald Thompson, Thunderbird Mining Systems, was honored with the Driller's Leadership Award; and Gonzalo Marias, Austin Powder Argentina, won the Paper of the Year Award.

See the Conference Pictures