48th Annual Conference Registration is Open!
Register Now | Download Registration Form (PDF)

Nearly 1,600 people from around the world met Jan. 26-29, 2020, in Denver, Colo., for the 46th Annual Conference on Explosives and Blasting Technique, the world’s largest conference on explosives engineering.

The conference included technical and poster sessions, workshops, industry socials and more than 150 exhibits showcasing latest technology. Keynote presenter Sean Brady, Ph.D., kicked off the event with his discussion on the possible limitations of expertise.

The online SEE Education Foundation auction, which wrapped up Tuesday, Jan. 28, raised nearly $7,500. Big-ticket items included one-of-a-kind quilt from Crazy Horse Memorial, a lifetime ISEE membership and a Taos Ski Valley getaway.

The money raised through the auction will go to the Education Foundation ISEE Scholarship Fund, which awards scholarships to college students from across the globe who are pursuing careers in the blasting industry.

Ronald Thomas was awarded the Distinguished Service Award; Ben Donnachie and Richard Hosley Jr. both won the Blaster's Leadership Award; George Aday was awarded the Driller of the Year Award; Joseph Nawrocki and Michael Chiurato won the President's Award; Joseph Hijny won the Industry Service Award; John Brulia and the ISEE Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter were inducted into the President's Club; Travis Davidsavor and David Provost were awarded Paper of the Year. Alfred Nobel was also inducted into the Explosives Industry Hall of Fame.

Passing of the Gavel and Other Board Moves
Alastair Torrance, Kilmorie Consulting, New South Wales, Australia, became the newest ISEE Board of Directors President during the Tuesday, Jan. 28 passing of the gavel ceremony. Braden Lusk, Dyno Nobel, moved to Vice President of Administration; Janeen Smith, J. Smith & Associates, LLC, moved to Technical Vice President; John Watson moved to Treasurer; and Kristen Kolden, Alaska Seismic & Environmental, moved to Secretary.

Kristie Allen-Bishop; Travis Davidsavor; Johan Gjødvad; Richard O'Meara; Thomas Palangio, Jr.; and Cesar Velasco, who were voted onto the Board of Directors, officially began their new roles.

Visit us on Facebook to see all the conference pictures.

Visit Us On Facebook